Dancehall + Roots=Vibes

Tag archive


Everything You Need to Know about #Exodus40

in Uncategorized by

Bob Marley’s 9th studio album Exodus was released on June 3, 1977. The album featured a new backing band including brothers Carlton and Aston Barrett on drum and bass, keyboardist Tyrone Downie, Alvin Patterson on percussion, and guitarist Julian “Junior Marvin”.

The Exodus album was released just six months after men walked into Tuff Gong Yard and fired multiple shots into the house. The shooting came on the heels of Bob’s Smile Jamaica concert which he’d hoped would ease political tension in the country. The election date was then pushed to coincide with his non-partisan peace-show. It was this assassination attempt that prompted Marley’s own premature exodus from the island to England in an eerily similar fashion to the original Rastafari, Haile Selassie in 1936.


image source:bathnewseum

This June, the Marley Family and Island Records marked the 40th anniversary of Exodus with a series of four separate reissues, three of which will feature Exodus 40-The Movement Continues, Ziggy Marley’s newly curated restatement of the original album.

Ziggy Marley has intimately revisited the original session recordings, uncovering unused and never-before-heard vocals, lyric phrasing and instrumentation, incorporating and transforming these various elements into brand-new session takes.

A two CD pack which includes the original album as well as Ziggy’s restatment  was released early this month.

The Super Deluxe

A Super Deluxe, four-LP, two-7” single vinyl version includes the original LP, Ziggy Marley’s restatement Exodus 40 – The Movement Continues, an Exodus Live set recorded at London’s Rainbow Theatre the week of the album’s release, Punky Reggae Party LP with an unreleased extended mix of “Keep On Moving”, and a pair of vinyl 7” singles, including “Waiting in Vain” b/w “Roots” and “Smile Jamaica (Part One)” b/w “Smile Jamaica (Part Two).”

Pre order extras sound nice

Pre orders from receive a digital download of the entire package as well as an exclusive Stephen Marley ‘juggling’ of the song “Exodus” with a reimagined music bed and different lead vocalists including Beenie Man, Queen Ifrica, Tarrus Riley and more.

Stephen Marley has recorded a ‘Re Likk’ EP of the “Exodus” riddim that will be available exclusively in Jamaica and the Caribbean.
Ziggy uncovered 10 lead vocal outtakes for “One Love”, proceeding to piece together a dazzling, new lead vocal from the outtakes, which includes vocal booth lyric ad libs near the end of the song. He also assembled a noteworthy roster of musicians to record a new music bed for “Turn Your Lights Down Low” – which leads the song into deeper elements of R&B.


So What do You get in the Super Deluxe Set Again

Vinyl 1 – ‘Exodus’ 1977

A1. Natural Mystic
A2. So Much Things to Say
A3. Guiltiness
A4. The Heathen
A5. Exodus
B1. Jamming
B2. Waiting in Vain
B3. Turn Your Lights Down Low
B4. Three Little Birds
B5. One Love/People Get Ready

Vinyl 2 – ‘Exodus 40 – The Movement Continues’
A1. Exodus
A2. Natural Mystic
A3. The Heathen
A4. Guiltiness
A5. Jamming
B1. One Love / People Get Ready
B2. Turn Your Lights Down Low
B3. Waiting In Vain
B4. Three Little Birds
B5. So Much Things To Say

Vinyl 3 – ‘Exodus Live’ @ Rainbow Theatre, London, June 1-4, 1977 (+ denotes unreleased)
A1. Natural Mystic+
A2. So Much Things to Say+
A3. Guiltiness+
A4. The Heathen
B1. Positive Vibration+
B2. Jamming+
B3. Exodus+

Vinyl 4 – ‘Punky Reggae Party’
A1. Punky Reggae Party
A2. Punky Reggae Party Dub
B1. Keep On Moving (previously unreleased extended mix)

7” single – “Waiting In Vain” b/w “Roots”
A1. Waiting in Vain
B1. Roots

7” single – “Smile Jamaica”
A1. Smile Jamaica (Part One)
B1. Smile Jamaica (Part Two)



This reissue features 3 CDs including:
Exodus 1977
– Ziggy Marley’s Exodus 40 – The Movement Continues
Exodus Live @ Rainbow Theatre, London, June 1-4, 1977 (includes bonus, unreleased version of “Burnin’ & Lootin’”)
2 cd edition


This reissue features 2 CDs including:
Exodus 1977
– Ziggy Marley’s Exodus 40 – The Movement Continues
*Also available as a bundle option with an exclusive ‘Exodus’ t-shirt!


Digital versions of the following are available:
Exodus 1977
– Ziggy Marley’s Exodus 40 – The Movement Continues
Exodus Live @ Rainbow Theatre, London, June 1-4, 1977 (includes bonus, unreleased version of “Burnin’ & Lootin’”)

Dre Island captures Exodus

in Reggae News by

Dre Island contributed to the BBC 40th anniversary tribute. Dre’s task was to capture the elusive Bob Marley tune Exodus and he made it his own with just a piano and a sweet raspy voice.

Watch Dre Island’s Official Video for Rastafari Way. 

Go to Top